Return and Reintegration of South Asian Women Migrant Workers

0 Comments
with speakers from GAATW members and partners in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka.

21 March 2022, 9 am London/ 2:30 pm New Delhi / 4 pm Bangkok / 8 pm Sydney.

“Sustainable reintegration” of migrant workers has become a buzzword in migration policy and discourse, and governments of origin countries are instituting programmes to achieve it. But what do migrant women think about these programmes, are they even aware of them, can they access them and do they benefit?

We invite you to a webinar where we will share findings from our research among women from Bangladesh, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka who returned from working in the Middle East. We’ll discuss the challenges they face after return, including in the context of COVID, and what the women themselves say they need in order to feel “reintegrated” in their communities.

The event is part of the UN Commission on the Status of Women and will take place on Monday, 21 March, at 9 am UK / 12 pm Saudi Arabia / 2:30 pm India and Sri Lanka / 2:45 pm Nepal / 3 pm Bangladesh / 4 pm Thailand. Register here: https://bit.ly/3szEarO

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.